How to avoid criticism:

” To avoid criticism do nothing, say nothing, be nothing. ”

Quote: . . . Elbert Hubbard

~ by Teena Davidson on January 22, 2011.

6 Responses to “How to avoid criticism:”

  1. I like this quote, miss teena. I hope all is well in your life 🙂

  2. The quote is right but I cannot say that I particularly like it. It kind of makes me sad in that there are probably too many people around who do exactly that: avoiding criticism by being inactive – or being afraid? Criticism is a two way road. It needs to be well founded and properly communicated and it needs to be taken on board. Both can be hard.
    Constructive criticism however shows that people care. It is the only way that brings us forward by opening up new perspectives… directions we hadn’t thought about before, or, it might just direct us back on to the right way.

  3. Hello Joey, happy to hear from you! I am well thankyou dear.. and I hope the very same for you!…

  4. Oz I would say that there are several doses of irony being played out in the above quote: to take this as literal counsel – is to miss the point of his remark entirely! In my view – Hubbard is engaging in a rhetoric to entice action, or lack of complacency… however you want to see it, or name it, (as opposed to the opposite) – silence and dismissal… Thankyou all for your interest in this post, and wishing you all the best!

  5. Bird,
    writing “I would say”, and “…in my view” states that this is apparently just your opinion. So how sure can we be that your view hits the point? But thanks very much for the attempt to giving a lecture. I am always keen on learning something new. Wishing you the best too!

Leave a Reply

 
