‘Beauty in a Bird’s Wing’ ~ Photographer Jim Richardson on Finding Beauty in Unlikely Places- National Geographic

Photographer Jim Richardson on Finding Beauty in Unlikely Places — National Geographic.

White.  Feathers.  And Light.

Situation: /el lugar:
Thistilfjordur (whose proper name in Icelandic is Þistilfjörður, but we’ll just call it Thistle Fjord). It was a sunny day on the Red Peninsula.

Photography of a dismembered bird’s feathers – the wing of a fulmar, or possibly a gull, by National Geographic contributing editor and photojournalist Jim Richardson.

On Capturing Beauty in Nature ~ :

“When I look for beauty, I tend to drift off and become oblivious to social expectations, and this wing was beautiful. The gleaming white patterns were graceful. The sky was the blue of the far north. Playing with my tilt-and-shift lens, I set it so that just a slash of the wing would be sharp, letting the rest drift off into softness. I hoped the image suggested the pristine splendor of the North Atlantic.

Something about this image made me feel good. I had vowed to explore new ways of seeing on this voyage, and I felt I had done something that was, for me, novel. My images tend to be descriptive, but this was suggestive, leaving much to the imagination while still speaking of place.

I put the bird’s wing down on the beach where I found it and offered a little thanks. The bird had helped me. I felt good as I walked away.”

~ Jim Richardson, Photojournalist

~ by Teena Davidson on August 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “‘Beauty in a Bird’s Wing’ ~ Photographer Jim Richardson on Finding Beauty in Unlikely Places- National Geographic”

  1. That’s absolutely gorgeous; thanks for sharing. However, I’m a little curious as to how the wing was sitting on the beach and wonder where the rest of the bird was…

  2. Thankyou, Cassie, for your comment. Please visit National Geographic for the entire article:
    http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-tips/different-perspectives-richardson/

    The author and photojournalist himself says: that the image was novel even for himself – “suggestive, leaving much to the imagination while still speaking of place.” That is to say, I suppose his intention was to capture something which makes people think… rather than to soley provide answers… Your blog is interesting and I am interested to read your upcoming posts.
    ps. I have updated the post with regards to details

    ~ Bird.

Leave a Reply

 
