‘Cat of Chefchaouen’, Poem by Teena Marcus

Birds of Seville

Birds of Seville

I peered through the windows,
I sat in the escarpment,
I walked the walls of
castles and ruins
(I found cave-men
there)
I strode across the desert..
To find you.

I sat back
At home I
purred like a cat
and waited,
In the doorstep –

Cat of Chaouen

Cat of Chaouen

I heard angels,
And far away
Hollow murmurs,
as the devil crowed
with quick and
clever verse.

Fallen promises
and lies spat up..
All the while heads bobbing
(like dogs in cars) –
from apathy or derision

On the sidelines
I finished first.

A faceless face
appearing,
voice soft and
eloquent,
I was surprised by
No glimmer of pride
Hand stretched out,
And fed the
Birds.

A barren track,
Of cantankerous verse
Will lead nowhere,
But wind up
With a closed door.

Original Verse By Teena Marcus. Bird of Light
copyright all rights reserved.
Photography: Bird of Light.

Spain, Morocco, Travels Collection

Pussycat Morocco: photos from my travels in Chaouen

Pussycat Morocco: photos from my travels in Chaouen

~ by Teena Davidson on June 11, 2009.

One Response to “‘Cat of Chefchaouen’, Poem by Teena Marcus”

  1. Interview Request

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Internet surfers. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan in the world. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the webosphere. Our aim is to foster peace, progress and harmony with passion.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable passionate bloggers, writers, and webmasters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you don’t mind. Please send us your approval for your interview at my email address “ghazala.khi at gmail.com”, so that I could send you the Interview questions. We would be extremely grateful.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com

Leave a Reply

 
