Day 2 – Journal

“Advance, and never halt, for advancing is perfection. Advance and do not fear the thorns in the path, for they draw only corrupt blood.”
Kahlil Gibran.

Traveling Somewhere?

Traveling Somewhere?

Day 2 in my 6-Day online journal. “Friendship is always a sweet responsibility, never an opportunity” Kahlil Gibran.

I also promised myself yesterday upon first entry, to explore the appearing relationship and from what I can draw, correlation between travel and writing. I feel as though I am embarking upon a new voyage.

First up, one of my favorite authors is Kahlil Gibran, although I do not consider myself by any means learned in his writings. The above quote in italics rings true to me and I chose it to accompany the picture in black and white (given to me by another exceptional friend) and to highlight the resonance between my thoughts on travel, exploration, and writing.

So a quick bio on the writer, poet, writer, philosopher, visual artist, painter and sculptor Gibran. Kahlil lived 1883 – 1931, born in Ottoman Syria, and died in New York of Lebanese-American nationality. His writing genres included: poetry, parable and short story.

Yesterday I mentioned some of the things that drive you – the inner yearnings that urge you to travel, or perhaps that voice of desire which longs to be a dancer, an artist, a composer, a pilot, actor, or who knows? a writer?

I will attempt to explain why I am beginning to understand the parallels between writing and traveling, for me. First, it is common knowledge that both can be quite solitary pursuits, but ones however that are demanding of you – push you out of a comfort zone.

A fact appearing to me also which is curious, in a similar way which travel takes you further away from your loved ones, often widening the gap in communication, and as the letter traditionally takes the place as primary correspondence, so too myblog appears to be presuming the role of the original letter. The reality must be converse: a letter (or a blog) must connect the two? But I see it forming a type of monologue.

Where writing seems less adventurous than traveling, the similarity obviously lies in the exploration of fields sometimes unknown, or imagined. Rarely a traveler sets out on foot with trepidation, and writing may be done from the comforts of your home, no expense required, but both fields of exploration can increase your acuteness of vision and heightened interest or concern in the world. My experience is limited and I often wonder the experiences of say, a singer, with a crowd, and the depth of courage and personal strength it must take to share and engage with the crowd?

Both writing and traveling involve some trusting in the unknown, reliance upon one’s instincts. I refer to not technique or process, but rather the experiential outcome.

By engaging in the world writing one experiences the similar sense of self that comes from engaging in the world as a traveler, as well as that similar sense of uncertainty, and humility which comes from being placed in a foreign land, with foreign customs.

I would be very grateful for any writer’s opinions on this blog, to share their personal experiences, if they can relate to the above in some way.

So, this is my journal entry for this morning, I may make a second entry this evening. As promised, my diary is exploring the inner world more so than outer workings. But I thank you for missing me, as I see you build a small bridge to make contact.

Never doubt that my friendship is there, remember that magical quote: “A friend who is far away is sometimes much nearer than one who is at hand. Is not the mountain far more awe-inspiring and more clearly visible to one passing through the valley than to those who inhabit the mountain?”
Kahlil Gibran.

~ by Teena Davidson on June 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
